2nd 3rd Dui or More

 

Being charged with a 2nd, 3rd, or even 4th DUI in California

, can have extremely serious consequences including jail,  prison time, a suspended license or revoked license, and a felony record conviction.  With the help of an experienced California DUI attorney, we may be able to reduce or even dismiss your DUI or seek jail sentence alternatives such as treatment programs, SCRAM, and or electronic monitoring also known as “house arrest” in lieu of jail.  Call immediately to learn more about what programs you may be eligible for.

 

With the right DUI Lawyer, it is possible to stay out of jail and maintain your driver’s license.

With recent legislation, there are ways of keeping an individuals drivers license for a second and third offense, however, the attorney must be knowledgeable in DUI law in order to negotiate a deal that will allow you to keep your driver’s license.

In addition, community service, house arrest, and work furlough programs are alternatives to county jail which will allow you to keep you working at your job.

The following are possible legal consequences for people arrested and convicted in California of a second, third, or fourth DUI offense:

2nd DUI Offense in California

  • Jail –   96 hours county jail to 1 year.
  • Fine – $390.00 to $1,000.00 plus penalty assessments.
  • Drivers License Suspension – up to 2 years.
  • Treatment Program – 18 to 30 months.

3rd DUI Offense in California

  • Jail – up to 120 days to 1 year.
  • Fine – $390.00 to $1,000.00 plus penalty assessments.
  • License Suspension – Up to 10 years.
  • Treatment Program – 18-30 months.

4th DUI Offense or Prior Felony DUI Conviction

A fourth time DUI offense is automatically considered a felony DUI.

  • Jail – 1 year to 3 years state prison
  • Fine – $390.00 to $1,000.00 plus penalty assessments.
  • License Suspension – up to 10 years.

Striking a Prior DUI in Southern California

In a California DUI case, the District Attorney will file a complaint that will allege the defendant has previously been convicted of a DUI in California or somewhere else in the United States within the previous 10 years. The purpose of the allegation is to enhance the possible sentencing and punishment ultimately suffered.

The existence of a PRIOR DUI conviction, regardless if it occurred in Los Angeles, Orange County, or San Diego County will substantially raise the consequences and jail time exposure for the typicalCalifornia DUI arrest.

If you are still on probation for the prior DUI, the court where the prior conviction was sentenced could require additional jail time for your violation of the terms of your probation.  This is called a PROBATION VIOLATION.

It is important to hire an experienced Southern California DUI attorney in order to fight for the best possible result to protect yourself from jail time and to negotiate your ability to have a restricted license as soon as you are eligible.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *